What About Now?

During my gap year I have been thinking a lot about how we have stopped living in the moment and how everyone has become so busy with life that they have stopped appreciating life and the little things that make life amazing. People have stopped just relaxing and doing literally nothing for a while to rejuvenate. I mean when I first started the gap year it just felt so oddly wrong to do nothing and relax. I felt like there was something else I should be doing. But now that I have been relaxing for a while now and only doing things I enjoy and want to do it feels amazing. Not just psychologically but physically too!

We live such a fast life these days that from when we’re about three we are on the go. First with school then with college and then with work. We always say “I’ll just relax when I retire, I’ll just pursue my hobbies later” but how sure are we that we will get time to do anything in the future? Nobody knows what the future holds for us. We are so used to procrastinating the things that should be our priority to do things that should be our last concern. We have become so caught up with making money, technology, socializing and work that we have forgotten how important it is to make time for ourselves.

If we want to start to change this pattern that is beginning to characterize our society we need to start changing ourselves and fast. We need to start changing the way we are raising our children and we need to emphasize to them that the most important thing in the world is not money or even education, the most important thing is to follow your dreams and live for yourself. If we start changing our ways now maybe the next generation will do even better than us and they will be the change that we so desperately need.

I want to conclude this by saying that I challenge you today to do something that you’ve always wanted to do ever since you were a child whether it’s learn an instrument or write a book. Do something that you are truly passionate about but have procrastinated doing!

My collaborator for the post, Mukund Pathak, wrote a wonderful poem about the above!

Sing with me the song of joy
And live life as  newer before
      You’ll start loving your life
       And all your tears will wipe
     And the melody will reside in your heart
     And bliss will be in your beats
     You’ll forget all your pain
      Life will be simple and plain
    And you’ll feel your presence
    And life will be worth living
    Just sing with me and see the change
     Beauty of life you’ll know …
I really hope you guys liked this post and please don’t forget to check out Mukund’s blog!!!
If you enjoyed this post don’t forget to like, follow, share and comment!!!
27 thoughts on “What About Now?

    1. Yes exactly doing things like that just really makes you see life in a different perspective! Even if you don’t have much money left after it’s still worth it cos you had such an amazing time and made so many memories!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually really liked the post a lot. They are definitely great steps when trying to achieve your dreams and I loved that you wrote about making sure to do your research because a lot of people blindly do things without actually planning it out and even though it’s good to be spontaneous it’s also important to know what you’re getting yourself into.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thanks for your ongoing support! 😉 Definitely agree that we all need to master the art of slowing down and making an effort to stop and stare where we actually are! What a small world, I took a gap year too =D, what wonderful adventures have you been up to?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well lately I have just been travelling around Kenya but I hope to go to some other countries too! And I’ve been doing a lot of stuff I’ve always wanted to like learn how to cook and play guitar and stuff! What have you been doing for your gap year?? Maybe I can steal a few of your ideas

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s awesome! =D my gap year was way back when in 2012 😉 didn’t do any travelling. Just simple stuff like taking cupcake decorating classes, volunteering and catching up on reading! Cooking is so much fun =p, eventually it becomes intuitive. And what a small world! I love the guitar too =D

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to focus on every weekend, couldn’t wait for the weekend so I could do the things I loved. Then one day I thought about my age and I calculated how few weekends I have left. That dawning realization changed my perspective on doing what I love in the moment. I’ve accomplished one of my goals I published my series of poems on Domestic Violence, which was a healing process for me. I entered a beauty pageant something I always dreamed of doing as a child, well, it’s never too late I’m 60 and I’m doing it. I’m working on an embroidery project that I am going to turn into a quilt that tells about all the lighthouses I’ve seen, another passion of mine. I’m finding joy in every day now, not just cramming it all in on the weekends.
    Thank you for reminding us all … our precious every moment is!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am so glad you are finally figuring out what you really want in life and going for it. Not many people have the courage to do that especially later in life because most people are just to set in their ways. You should definitely keep achieving all your goals big and small. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

