Dream Crushers

So recently I’ve been noticing our entire society is just really into ruining people’s dreams. It’s happening everywhere even in our schools and homes. As soon as a child is born we all have a certain idea of what it should be like and what career it should pick in the future and we pretty much plan out its entire life. As the child grows up we keep encouraging it to do what we want and when it hits a certain age when it has to pick a career we pretty much force it into doing what we want. If someone has a different idea we all just rip into it and tear it apart. If someone wants to do something that society doesn’t exactly approve of everyone just completely discourages that person until their dream is dead.

And it’s not just things that society doesn’t approve of- it’s everything. Something as simple as wanting to start a blog can be ruined by everyone around you. When I was a little girl I had wanted to be a writer because I loved reading and loved writing even more but of course what did I hear- writers don’t make it, you’re going to end up broke, only a few writers make it and you won’t be one of them. It was so hurtful but I was still young so I didn’t feel as bad about it and I kind of let it pass. I never realized that unconsciously my one true dream had been crushed and I had started looking for a different career.

Around the time I started high school I realized I loved helping people out, giving advice and just in general listening to people’s problems. Consequently this led to me wanting to be a therapist. For me there is no feeling that compares to how I feel when I help someone out and you would think people would be supportive of this but they weren’t. Some of the first comments I heard were- it’s dangerous, why would you want to work with crazy people, you’re going to end up broke. It was so painful to hear these comments from people whose approval I felt I needed at that time. Even though for years I had literally dreamt of nothing but becoming a therapist I started to again rethink my choices. I began doubting myself because even though deep down I knew this was all I wanted to do other people’s comments got to me.

Now, as I write this I finally realize that it doesn’t matter what people tell me. I no longer need the approval of those around me because if you truly care about someone instead of putting them down you would support them. Even if it isn’t something as simple as career choices, even if it is something crazy, if you love someone you support their choices because you should have enough respect for them to understand that they need to do what they want not what you think they should want.

For years I tried to seek approval and please everyone around me but I now realize that people like that don’t deserve it. No matter what I do they will always find something negative to point out. Also no one has the right to tell me what I should do with my life because I am the only person who will live with the consequences of my choices. Sure you may end up being absolutely right and I may end up broke or unemployed but at least I will have done it my way.

I will end this post by telling all the people out there who dare to dream that do not stop dreaming. Even if it may seem crazy and unachievable to people still- go ahead and dream. You will come across lots of people who will tell you otherwise, people who will do anything to poison your dreams but don’t listen to them. In fact, cut them out of your life as soon as you possibly can because you don’t need that negativity in your life. If someone truly loves you they should love you for who you are not what they want you to be. And to all the people out there who get so much pleasure from destroying other people’s dreams, even if you think what you are doing is for the best it isn’t. What you are actually doing is slowly suffocating everyone around you and forcing them to be miserable just like you. It doesn’t cost anything to support someone who’s trying so hard to achieve their dreams. Just because you don’t like or probably don’t understand something or someone doesn’t give you the right to destroy their life. Having someone ruin your dreams can literally psychologically destroy someone. Unless you are ready to take full and total responsibility for ruining someone’s future and if you are okay with always being blamed by that person for their misery do not negatively interfere in their life.

Please, let’s just support one another instead of destroying each other. Be the change you want to see in others. Don’t be a dream crusher.

“You may say that I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you will join us, and the world will live as one.” – John Lennon

“If you can dream it, you can do it.” – Walt Disney

“I want to be around people that do things. I don’t want to be around people that judge or talk about what people do. I want to be around people who dream and support and do things.” – Amy Poehler

If you enjoyed this post don’t forget to like, share, follow and comment.

5 thoughts on “Dream Crushers

  1. I believe even if everyone is against our dreams, we shouldn’t rethink our choices because they “don’t fit in”. It’s up to you to decide what to pick in the end. To me, only passion and love can make us happy in our career life. Well-paid job you hate never makes you fulfilled. Unfortunately, we can’t buy spiritual well-being. Thank you for this great reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi my name is Rebecca and I just wanted to send you a quick note here instead of calling you. I came to your Dream Crushers | lifesfinewhine website and noticed you could have a lot more traffic. I have found that the key to running a popular website is making sure the visitors you are getting are interested in your subject matter. There is a company that you can get keyword targeted visitors from and they let you try the service for free for 7 days. I managed to get over 300 targeted visitors to day to my site. http://cwby.us/9c

    Like

Leave a Reply

